Friday, May 1, 2009
Mad at myself!
I went with Colin to McDonald's last night - it was our regular 'date night' - I love these nights. :-) Anyway, I asked him what he wanted for dinner and he said 'cheese hamburger, fries, ketchup and orange drink'. I ordered a double cheeseburger for myself which I had put into my eating plan and it worked with the calories and carbs and fat and protein in my day (I couldn't believe how many calories and fat there were - 460 calories and 23 grams of fat - yuck!). Colin dug into his double cheeseburger and so did I. When he was almost done that, he said he was full. I asked him if he wanted his fries later and he said 'no'. I didn't know what to do - I hated to waste them, but I knew that reheated fries are not great so taking them home didn't seem like an option. I thought it would be a waste to throw them out since I had paid for them. So, what did I do? I ate them - and looking back on it, it seems like it wasn't a very bright thing to do. I seem to have a lot of problems not finishing food I have paid for or throwing out food that I have paid for. And the fries were cold and too salty so they didn't even taste that good. Anyway, another lesson learned: just throw them away - I've paid for them anyway, so whether they go down to my tummy or into the garbage really doesn't matter. And if it goes down into my tummy, it adds fat and calories that I don't need or want - especially right now. I don't feel guilty about it (guilt is a wasted emotion), but I am annoyed with myself for doing it. But, I also realize that I am learning on this journey and as long as I don't do that again, then that's okay. Today's menu: breakfast - apple cinnamon oatmeal, milk, lunch - barbecued chicken, spiced potatoes, green beans, snacks - yogurt, ritz cheese crackers, peaches, supper - turkey burger, tossed salad with low-cal french dressing. That has become one of my favourites - it's so yummy, it doesn't even need any fixings.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment