Wednesday, March 25, 2009
A little slip
I got to sleep before 11pm last night - actually around 10:30pm, I was snoring. I was able to get up a bit later this morning, even, since everything was ready for today (clothes, food). I was a good girl while eating at school today: breakfast - egg on half a bagel, snack - orange, lunch - dagwood sandwich (turkey, cheese, tomato, cucumber, lettuce, pickled beets), snack - yogurt. THEN, I blew it (a little). I got together with my friend, Bev, who I haven't seen in ages and we decided to go out for supper. I decided earlier in the day that I would make sure to eat something healthy (even though, as I pointed out to my friends at school, eating healthy is more expensive than eating unhealthy food). Welllllllllllllll, Bev suggested we go to one of my favourite restaurants, East Side Marios. Okay, I thought, I can handle this.................well, not too well or rather, not as well as I would have liked to. One hint: my tummy is still full and it's been two hours since we left the restaurant. That's right - I ate too much (drats!). I decided to go with the spaghetti (all you can eat special which included a yummy sounding chocolate decadent cake) and before you gasp, I did not eat the cake and did not intend to eat it! :-) And I only got one portion of spaghetti (actually fettucine) just in case you were thinking that I had pigged out on the pasta. BUT, I did have three salads. Grandma Martin used to call me 'the salad girl' when we went out to eat because I just love a good garden salad and tend to eat more of that than anything else. I only ate half of the fettucine (I will eat the other half tomorrow for lunch) and I had a little bread. BUT, the one thing I have learned is not to beat myself up about a little setback. I DID eat too much salad, but I didn't eat the cake (I gave it to Bev to give it to her husband), so all in all, not TOO much of a setback. NOW, about the exercise: needless to say, I have not done it yet. I am hoping to do a little bit of yoga tonight - I am just waiting for my tummy to feel less full - I might just have to do the yoga even though my tummy feels so heavy (not sure how good that is, to exercise when I'm so full). We didn't have a lot of time tonight since Bev had to get somewhere, but in the future, if I am going out to eat, I think that the best thing to do would be to exercise before I eat. I love these 'me' days I am having. I was home tonight before 7pm. I took a bath and read a great book I am in the middle of. I have 'American Idol' on the tv while I am writing this blog. Breakfast and lunch are sorted. AND I didn't even bring home any schoolwork. It's lovely relaxing and I am hopeful that all these things I am doing (eating well, exercising, relaxing) will help to keep me healthy and happy. :-)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment